LUDGERSHALL TOWN COUNCIL



PLANNING COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Planning Committee shall be administered and managed in accordance with these Terms of Reference and to be read in conjunction with Ludgershall Town Council Standing Orders and reviewed annually.

The Council shall appoint a Planning Committee to consider matters only relating to the responsibilities listed below that are provided by the Town Council.

The Committee shall consist of a minimum of 8 and a maximum of 11 Town Councillors including the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of full Town Council. Membership of the Planning Committee shall be ratified at the Annual Council Meeting in May of each year. The Committee shall elect its own Chairman and Vice-Chairman at the first committee meeting after the Annual Council Meeting in May each year and shall have a quorum of not less than 4 members. The Chairman shall in the case of an equality of votes have a second casting vote. The Chairman or the Chairman of full Council shall have discretion to refer a matter to the full Council.

The Committee shall meet when deemed necessary by the Chairman and the Clerk. At least 3 clear days' notice will be given.

- The Committee has delegated authority to consider all planning applications pertaining to Ludgershall Town Council and to respond to Wiltshire Planning Authority.
- The Committee shall have an obligation to ensure that relevant parties are given an adequate hearing. Applicants, supporters and objectors shall have the opportunity to speak at meetings in accordance with the Town Council Standing Orders.
- Any member of the committee can ask the Clerk to request an extension of time from Wiltshire County Council Planning Department in order to adequately respond to an application.
- Where an application is subject to an appeal the Chair of the Committee or a member of the committee should be nominated to attend the hearing or inquiry

All correspondence shall be conducted through the Town Clerk. Minutes of all meetings shall be kept by the Clerk and forwarded to all Members of the Town Council.